Our Mission & History


The mission of the Washoe County Young Democrats is to steward the next generation of Nevada’s political activists and Democratic candidates, and to support progressive legislation and progressive people.


The Washoe County Young Democrats coalesced in mid-2016 under the Interim Leadership Team of Darcy Shepard Kennedy, Carlos Perez Campbell, Paul Catha, Pam duPre, and Cecilia Colling.

On January 17, 2017, the Washoe County Young Democrats Bylaws were passed, and the first official executive board was elected: Carlos Perez Campbell (President), Darcy Kennedy Shepard (Vice President), Antonio Gonzalez (Treasurer), Shane Scott (Secretary), and Joko Cailles (Historian and Communications Officer).